Newbie with first MK2 'Garage find'

Discussion relating to the Scirocco 1982-1991 - - please ask technical questions in the technical/trouble shooting section
Darren5591
fill in the right answer: 15

Newbie with first MK2 'Garage find'

Post by Darren5591 »

Hey all,

Newbie here picking up my first Scirocco in a couple of weeks time and would like to identify what the colour is? I've had a look online and I can't see a colour code the same as this for a 1986 GTX. It seems like it could be either Cosmos blue (which i've only seen on the earlier Scala models) or Arctic blue metallic. Can anyone shed some light? Unfortunately I don't have the car yet so can't check the colour code in person but i'm leaning more towards the Arctic Blue.

It's a bit of a garage find in immaculate condition (if a little dusty!) and will be keeping this original as I can. Original paint with 69k on the clock and 1 previous owner from new - it would be sacrilege to do anything else! The RSPB stickers etc will be going though!

GTXTRA
fill in the right answer: 10

Re: Newbie with first MK2 'Garage find'

Post by GTXTRA »

Serial Rocco-ist.........
the edmundator

Post by the edmundator »

Nice find, GTX are comparatively rare nowadays, so glad to here you're not going to bugger around with it (get a GTII or a Scala if you want to do that!).

It will be Arctic Blue Metallic, there should be a sticker inside the boot on the rear panel with the paint code (something like LA5Y - although that isn't arctic blue). The same sticker is usually inside the original service book if you have that.

Register Member 829
--
1980 (1976) Mk1 Junior Cup Replica
1987 MK2 GTX
Darren5591

Post by Darren5591 »

Great link, it must be Arctic Blue then!