First 'Rocco - big project planned

Scirocco Register members projects
Forum rules
Section for all vehicle and related projects. Please keep responses pertinent to thread.
DMReynolds
fill in the right answer: 15

First 'Rocco - big project planned

Post by DMReynolds »

Hey folks - been reading here for a while, but this is my first time posting.

To set the scene: I've been a biker 14 years - never really been interested in cars - recently started working with some disadvantaged kids, one of whom LOVES sciroccos. Long story short, it rubbed off on me, so I decided to get hold of a knackered old one and do a major restoration / modification project with him as a learning tool.

Day 1 - Found an '87 1.8 8v carb 'Rocco Scala with only 82k on the clock. Realised the guy spelt 'Scirocco' wrong on ebay. Looks a little beat-up, but hey - I'm going to be the only person bidding on it...

Day 4 - Win the auction for £670

Day 5 - Oh sh*t, guess I should take a driving test...

Day 10 - Pass driving test in a 2017 Hyundai with power assisted everything, hop straight on train from Exeter to Birmingham, jump back in time to an 80's 'lump', try to figure out how to drive it 200 miles home...

THE GOOD:
  • Interior is in great condition - one tiny tear in the driver's offside bolster
  • Seller chucked in a knackered set of the original snowflakes
  • 82k seems legit, lots of supporting SH
  • Engine bay very tidy
  • Very little rust
  • Sunroof doesn't leak!!
THE BAD:
  • Bodywork has been lazily touched up / resprayed. Overspray on lights, windows etc
  • Struggles a bit at low rpm in low gears
  • Auto-choke is aggressive as all hell
  • Speedo intermittently judders up and down +/- 10mph at speeds < 50mph
  • Idle when the choke comes off is a little weak, sounds like it's struggling
  • Quote a lot of overrun
  • Drivers door has obviously been replaced (different key, doesn't sit flush)