Paul's 89 Mk2 GT2

Scirocco Register members projects
Forum rules
Section for all vehicle and related projects. Please keep responses pertinent to thread.
pajsh
fill in the right answer: 10

Paul's 89 Mk2 GT2

Post by pajsh »

My 7even kit car went yesterday so I thought I'd start a thread off for my MkII 'rocco Project.

I have owned it since 2000 when I bought it for my wife as a daily driver for £950. Two years later my son had it as his first car for a year before he bought a Mk4 GTi and we parked it up. The last 7 years it's been SORN while I have been building and driving a Locost 7 which I finally forced myself to part with in order to bring the old 'rocco out.

It's likely initial progress will be slow as I've no real knowledge of VW stuff and will have to do plenty of reading around to decide what to do. My first post in the Mk2 section got limited response so I am steadily reading through all these project threads here and on the net.

Basically, I want to make it a fun fast road/track car without going crazy either financially or technically. At VWNW a couple of weekends back I spoke to a few people and formalised a general plan as follows:

8v Engine is pretty sound but has 142k on the clock so I plan to replace it and get some extra power while I'm at it. Currently thinking 16v 2.0 on carbs with 3d ignition.
Change in engine will probably mean change in gearbox but more info still required. Probably go with existing cable box for now and change when it packs in. Probably not long!
Suspension will be stripped and refurbished. Planning replacement coilovers but nothing too low or expensive.
Brakes will be upgraded and probably discs on the back. G60's have been suggested with a bigger servo but no firm ideas on this one yet
Interior removed and new front seats and harnesses. Needs to be done well, not just left tatty. No cage.
Replacement fuel tank as the seam is knackered. Maybe replacement part or move inside. Filler is OK.