Warm start problems - 88 1.6 carb

Discussion relating to the Scirocco 1982-1991 - - please ask technical questions in the technical/trouble shooting section
Jack&Bec88
fill in the right answer: 15

Warm start problems - 88 1.6 carb

Post by Jack&Bec88 »

Quick question - I'm new to both petrol engines and carbed engines, I'm usually messing around with PD or VE diesels.

My partner and I picked up an '88 GT 1.6 carb about a month ago. After playing endless silly buggers with the Pierberg I dropped a Weber 32/34 on there and it now cold starts, revs up, and idles perfectly. Also fixed a massive vacuum leak on the big brake booster hose, and replaced all other vacuum lines just to be sure. Threw a cam belt on it.

The only problem I have now is a hot start issue. It's the same with the Weber as it was with the Pierberg so I'm assuming it's not related to the carb in any way. On cold start it'll bump into life with zero issues. On hot start it needs to turn over for 10-15 seconds on the starter before it'll juuuuust catch and fire up, and then need coaxing with the throttle for a few more seconds to settle down into a decent idle. Then it'll drive absolutely fine. If you hot start it within a minute or so if shutting it off it'll start fine, leave it any longer than that and you have issues until it's fully cold again.

Is this a fuel non return valve issue? Some kind of fuel pump or lift pump issue? I'm still learning my way around these engines so a direction to head in would be much appreciated. Hoping it's not the accumulator..

Thanks!

C 20 CCO

Re: Warm start problems - 88 1.6 carb

Post by C 20 CCO »

I’ve been drumming through my head what might be causing this but struggling. Only because you’ve changed carbs and still have an issue.
Some members have also changed from a Pierberg to a Webber, and hopefully they can clarify that all is hooked up well.
I was going to say float chamber in the carb,