E10 petrol?

Discussion relating to the Scirocco 1982-1991 - - please ask technical questions in the technical/trouble shooting section
SciRossco
fill in the right answer: 15

E10 petrol?

Post by SciRossco »

Anyone else thinking about a possible engine upgrade to avoid any possible issues? Maybe even a diesel turbo or electric?

1992 Scirocco GTII
1984 Scirocco Storm Cosmos
2007 Touran SE
GT_II

Re: E10 petrol?

Post by GT_II »

E5 fuel should still be around for at least 5 years as super unleaded. Although VW say E5 is safe for VWs of any age, because I don't use my Scirocco as a daily driver I prefer to play safe and fill up with Esso Synergy Supreme+ 99, rated E5, but guaranteed Ethanol free except in a few areas - see:

[url]https://www.esso.co.uk/en-gb/fuels/petrol[url

I guess if you're a daily driver, the extra cost of super unleaded may be an issue.

1992 VW Scirocco GT II 1.8 90PS Brilliant Black 30k
SciRossco

Post by SciRossco »

Yeh I heard about super unleaded staying E5 for a while, didn't realise VW had said E10 is safe tho that's good then! Still wouldn't mind looking into a future EV conversion been watching that vintage voltage program can see it getting cheaper and easier as technology improves. It's not a daily driver anyway just gets out for summers but has been in the garage the last 2 years now unfortunately.

1992 Scirocco GTII
2007 Touran SE
GT_II

Post by GT_II »

No, VW say our Mk2 Sciroccos are not suitable for E10 sadly, but E5 is fine. However, my understanding is E5 can decompose if stored for an extended period (winter for example), which VW may not have considered, so I use Esso super fuel which is guaranteed ethanol-free in most areas.