define pinking

Discussion relating to the Scirocco 1982-1991 - - please ask technical questions in the technical/trouble shooting section
james butler
fill in the right answer: 10

define pinking

Post by james butler »

can anyone tell me exactly what pinkin is and what it sounds like + wot are likely causes.
fanx
james

I dont mind project cars but I HATE SANDING!!!
Dr. Dub
fill in the right answer: 15

Re: define pinking

Post by Dr. Dub »

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it pre-ignition caused by the timing being too advanced?

Currently without a car (long story)
Previous rides. 2x 89 Scirocco GTs & 84 Storm
bluestreak56

Post by bluestreak56 »

Under load a tapping / tappety noise made by the engine usually caused by as dr.dub said either timing too advanced.

Incorrect fuel mixture (try super unleaded)

or the tappets needing lubrication?

Correct me if im wrong also as im still learning myself.. I had this issue switched to tesco 98 ron and retarded the timing. Its still there but should be ok once I sort the fuel mixture and reset the timing again..
Last edited by bluestreak56 on Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

markh

Post by markh »

It can also be caused by heavy carbon deposits around the valves.

Don't ask me....it was like that when i got here !
Nate

Post by Nate »

markh wrote:It can also be caused by heavy carbon deposits around the valves.
can be helped with a strong dose of redex. run the tank down low then put a full bottle of it in without refuelling. also try pouring it down the spark plug holes (see instructions on the bottle)

Check out my photostream on Flickr
'69 bay, '79 bay, '74 bug, '78 GLS, '91 GT2, '10 SAAB 9-3
james butler

Post by james butler »

yeah that sounds about right. i get the tappety noise under load. i will check my timing and will ave a look at the fuel mixture, as you say it might be a little too lean.

the edmundator

Post by the edmundator »