Mk 1 injection issues

Carbs; K-jet; Tanks; Lines; Filler necks, Senders; aftermarket fuel systems; Exhausts and Manifolds;air filters - standard and aftermarket
Forum rules
Hints, tips and guides for repair and modification - the FAQ section on the main website is worth checking first for information relating to common faults and technical help. Useful posts and guides will be added to the FAQ http://www.sciroccoregister.co.uk/scirocco-faq
Hilltop

Mk 1 injection issues

Post by Hilltop »

Hello, I've been working on my Mk1 injection which has been idle for about 16 years. The fuel filler had rusted badly and the tank was full of curd/ rust. I have renewed the filler pipe, tank, fuel lines, accumulator and filter. It does start but is very rough and cuts out. I hate to think that rust has got into the k-jet system but it's a possibility. Would appreciate any help/ guidance on this issue.

MRMENDER
fill in the right answer: 10

Re: Mk 1 injection issues

Post by MRMENDER »

First of all go back to basics!
Make sure you have a good spark. check all components like plugs, rotor arm leads etc are good, Check timing.
Then we can get down to the Injection system.
I see you have not changed the fuel pump? Remove it from the car. In a bowl of petrol connect it to a 12V supply watch it pump. Then reverse the polarity to clear any crud out. In my opinion after standing for 16 Years I would replace it.
Personally I would not replace ANY other components on the injection system until you can get a KJet pressure test system connected up to look for faults. Changing components willy nilly is an expensive pastime, you just end up chasing your tail !

mark1gls

Post by mark1gls »

There is a pin inside the metering head which is operated by the metal disc, it can get stuck if not moved for some time have a look and check its moving.
More info and pictures.
http://vwgolfmk1.org.uk/forum/index.php ... &kfs180=30

Mk1 78 Scirocco GLS 1.6 FR, weekend toy.